daily, ponderings

One step forward

Week 4, still no internet.

It’s insane how our lives depend so much on being connected with things and information on the other side of a screen.

I’ve decided to start taking some pictures this weekend, and go around to have a waltz.

The weather has been incredibly erratic. Think sunshine one moment, and then sudden hail for the next few minutes, before snow starts falling, then sunshine again. There was only that much I could do.

I attended a yoga class which was held in Deutsch. Honestly it felt awful not knowing what was coming up next and having to peek at the instructor each time. Then I decided to go check out some stores since I was in the shopping district. Ended up being terribly let down by what seems to be the worst Muji/Uniqlo store I’ve ever visited in my life. LOL.

The flea at Boxhagener Platz was completely different this weekend, which turned out to be a nice surprise. For 2 weekends I’ve checked out the same flea market and it’s always second hand stuff and furniture etc. That Saturday happened to be fresh produce, food, flowers, coffee and pastries! I went home lugging a huge cherry crumble in hand and had a good cup of coffee.

Yes, coffee. Me, the non coffee drinker has started taking in the kind of caffeine that I rejected in the past. I don’t really know why, though tea will always be #1 in my heart. I guess, I was just tired all the time, and needed an extra punch at work, also my favourite houjicha/matcha/chai tea lattes aren’t as easy to find around here. The lack of an internet means I need to go to cafes to leech on their wifi like I am doing now, and the only thing to drink is really coffee… or sugar filled Apfelsaft and overpriced smoothies that taste inferior to the ones I make.

Sunday I headed out to Lichtenberg to find this legendary Vietnamese Warehouse place I’ve heard so much about. From what I read, it sounded like a Vietnamese equivalent of Mustafa, the type of place that you spend hours in and can find everything and anything. But alas, nothing can beat the magnificence which is Mustafa and their cable tied plastic bags. No doubt this Dong Xuan Centre place was impressive, on a large scale they had most things you can’t find in Europe easy. Cheap material Asian products and produce, wholesale nail polish and everything else made in china, really. The environment was pretty cool, it brought me back to the Ben Than Market in Saigon. The air smelt like toxic nail polish, hoi sin sauce and the smell of where Asian fashion went to die in the year of 1999.

For once I didn’t feel like i was the only short person in a sea of towering Germans, so that was kind of nice. Although, I didn’t manage to find everything on my to-buy list, just because so many things were mad overpriced. Maybe this is just the cost of rare things on the other side of the world, but 3 euros for a sift and 1.20 euros for a chinese soup spoon?! I cannot justify. I ended up purchasing the sift either way because I’ve been searching for weeks and can no longer be fucked about that no more. Things were also not as easy to find when a store sells the most random combination of things under the sun. It’s basically a clusterfuck. At least at Mustafa everything is under one roof, one store and no matter how many new wings/buildings they expand, the staff always always knows where to find what you’re looking for — even if it’s for a small strand of saffron. After 2 hours I gave up looking for things and ordered a mountain of fried noodles, chomped down half till i could eat no more, and packed the rest back. Portions are massive here, have I mentioned that? How does one eat that much in one sitting…

Anyway, it’s been a relatively nice weekend even though the sun-hail-sun-rain weather’s being a bitch. I’m already counting down till company arrives!

Standard

Leave a Reply

